About UsIssuesAct NowGovernment AffairsEventsNewsroomlounge
Media Contact: Jake Ward
Phone: (202) 420-8056
Email: jward@qorvis.com

Independent Cable Show Wraps Up Third Annual Conference

Amid Digital Transition, Rising Retransmission Consent Fees, and Tying and Bundling Rulemaking Operators Join Forces to Face Industry Challenges

ORLANDO, FL, July 30, 2008 — More than 155 independent cable operators from around the country wrapped up the third annual Independent Cable show in Orlando, Florida today. The three-day educational summit, hosted by the American Cable.

Association (ACA) and the National Cable and Television Cooperative (NCTC), focused on providing operators with the information and tools they will need to face the challenge of the 2009 DTV transition and the ongoing negotiation of retransmission consent agreements between operators and broadcasters. More than twelve hundred people attended this year’s show, a 21% increase from last year.

“This year’s show was the most important and most successful we have hosted to date,” said ACA President and Chief Executive Officer Matthew M. Polka. “The independent cable industry will face a number of challenges in the coming months and we hope this year’s show and the support ACA and NCTC will provide individual operators with the tools they need to meet those challenges head on. For our part, ACA will continue to work with the FCC and Congress to level the playing field for smaller operators andensure a smooth digital transition in February.”

During this year's show, the American Cable Association held membership elections to its board of directors, including:

Serving two-year terms:
Chair - Steve Friedman, Wave Broadband
Vice Chair - Jim Bruder, Harron/Metrocast Board

Serving three-year terms:
Bruce Beard, Broadstripe
Kirby Campbell, Armstrong
Calvin Craib, Mediacom
Steve Lowe, Avenue Broadband
Tom Might, Cable ONE

The ACA Board also elected Dave Baum, JetBroadband Treasurer

A number of individuals and organizations were also recognized for their outstanding service, leadership, and community service.

ACA PAC Leadership Award - for creating a culture of political support and activism within an organization
Cable ONE

ACA Lyn Simpson Grassroots Spirit Award – for contributions to the grassroots activities and community service of the ACA
Metrocast Communications
Jim Gleason, New Wave Communications

ACA Eagle Award
– for numerous years of commitment and service to ACA.
Pat Thompson, RBC Daniels
Steve Weed, Wave Broadband

ACA Chairman's Award – recognizing the outgoing Chair for time and service
Patrick Knorr, Sunflower Broadband

About the American Cable Association
Based in Pittsburgh, the American Cable Association is a trade organization representing 1,100 smaller and medium-sized, independent cable companies who provide broadband services for more than 7 million cable subscribers primarily located in rural and smaller suburban markets across America. Through active participation in the regulatory and legislative process in Washington, D.C., ACA’s members work together to advance the interests of their customers and ensure the future competitiveness and viability of their business. For more information, visit www.americancable.org.

083009 Independent Show Wrap-Up Release FINAL.pdf36.44 KB

Contact Us

Please use the information below to get in touch with the American Cable Association.

  • American Cable Association
    Seven Parkway Center
    Suite 755
    Pittsburgh, PA 15220-3704
  • phone:412-922-8300
    contact us
Connect Hometown America
Join the Campaign

Enter your email address and zip code below to begin the process of creating an account on the ACA website.