About UsIssuesAct NowGovernment AffairsEventsNewsroomlounge

ACA Announces Recipients Of Prestigious Awards At 5th Independent Show

The American Cable Association saluted several ACA members at this year's 5th Annual Independent Show with awards recognizing their critical support for the trade group and the cause of advancing the interests of small, independent cable operators providing high-quality voice, video and broadband Internet service across the great America heartland.

"ACA's success as an organization depends on the care and dedication of some very special people. The independent cable community has earned a well-deserved role in the public policy arena because individuals like the ones we honor today with our highest awards have used their exceptional talents to serve a great cause with remarkable skill and sophistication. I salute all of them for accolades they so richly deserve," ACA President and CEO Matthew M. Polka said.

The awards were presented in front of hundreds of ACA members in attendance for the 5th Annual Independent Cable Show co-hosted and jointly organized by ACA and the National Cable Television Cooperative (NCTC), a Lenexa, Kansas-based group that purchases programming and equipment for U.S. cable operators. This year's Independent Show drew nearly 1,000 attendees.

At the annual meeting of ACA's membership, Polka presented ACA's top honors to the following individuals:

ACA Eagle Award: Martin Brophy, President and CEO Shen-Heights TV Associates.

The Eagle Award is presented to an ACA member, typically an ACA board member, with 15 years of service in the cable industry, whose achievements during that period have significantly benefited the cable industry and have served as an inspiration to his or her colleagues.

Lyn Simpson Grassroots Spirit Award: Jim Beattie, Assistant General Counsel of Bevcomm Communications.

The Lyn Simpson Award goes to a company or individual embodying the passion and commitment that Lyn brought to the small operator community in her role as an ACA founding member in the early 1990s. The award underscores the value of commitment, dedication, and sacrifice to the independent cable business.

ACA Board Service Award: Dave Baum (formerly of JetBroadband).

The Board Service Award is given to recognize the service and commitment of an ACA board member stepping down from that position. Baum was the owner and operator of both Helicon Cable and JetBroadband. Baum was also the founder of JetBroadband.

ACA PAC Individual Leadership Award: Colleen Abdoulah, President & CEO WOW! Internet, Cable and Phone.

The PAC Individual Award recognizes enthusiasm, dedication and support for the ACA PAC and for creating a culture of knowledge within the company regarding the ACA PAC's important role and purpose.

In a related matter, Polka also presented the ACA PAC Leadership Award to Buckeye CableSystems, based in Toledo, Ohio.

The PAC Leadership Award honored Buckeye for more than doubling its PAC contribution totals and significantly increasing the number of ACA PAC donors in the past year.

The Independent Operator of the Year Award was presented by Seth Arenstein of CableFax Magazine during the Tuesday night dinner.  The recipient of this year's award is NewWave Communications headquartered in Sikeston, MO.  The award was accepted by Jim Gleason, President/CEO and Tom Gleason, Executive Vice President. 

Contact Us

Please use the information below to get in touch with the American Cable Association.

  • American Cable Association
    Seven Parkway Center
    Suite 755
    Pittsburgh, PA 15220-3704
  • phone:412-922-8300
    contact us
Connect Hometown America
Join the Campaign

Enter your email address and zip code below to begin the process of creating an account on the ACA website.