About UsIssuesAct NowGovernment AffairsEventsNewsroomlounge

ACA Awards

Independent Operator of the Year

Presented annually by CableFAX Magazine and sponsored by the American Cable Association and the National Cable Television Coop (NCTC), this honor recognizes an ACA/NCTC independent cable operator that has distinguished itself by exemplifying excellence in service, sales, marketing, community service and industry advocacy. 

2014 Recipient - Comporium

Past Recipients
2013 Cable One
2012 Wave Broadband
2011 General Communications, Inc. (GCI)
2010 NewWave Communications
2009 NPG Cable, Inc.
2008 WOW! Internet, Cable & Phone
2007 Armstrong
2006 Patriot Media
2005 Buford Media

Lyn Simpson Grassroots Spirit Award

Send your letters to Congress today and copy ACA on your correspondence to be added to our grassroots spirit index.

2013 Award Recipient - John Strode, Ritter Communications

Past Recipients
2012 Chris Kyle, Shentel
2010 Jim Beattie, BEVCOMM
2009 Chad Winters, Cass Cable TV, Inc.
2008 Harron Communications

2008 Jim Gleason, NewWave Communications
2006 Michael Drake, Milestone Communications
2005 Patrick Davis, Davis Communications

ACA Eagle Award

The ACA Eagle Award is presented annually to an individual who is an ACA member who has served in the cable television industry for at least 15 years and whose achievements in that time have significantly benefited the cable television industry. Their dedication, effort, and service to the industry stand as an inspiration to his/her colleagues.

2009 Eagle Award - Martin Brophy, Shen-Heights TV Cable

Past Recipients 2008– Pat Thompson, RBC Daniels and Steve Weed, Wave Broadband

Chairman's Award

The ACA Board of Directors' Chairman Award is given to the board's chairman for their leadership and vision for Independent Cable.  The award is normally presented at the end of the Chairman's term.

2014 Award Recipient – Colleen Abdoulah, WOW! Internet, Cable & Phone

Past Recipients: 
2010 Steve Friedman, Wave Broadband
2008 Patrick Knorr, Sunflower Broadband

PAC Leadership Award

The ACA PAC Award is presented annually to an ACA Member Company that demonstrates awareness of the importance of contributing to the ACA PAC to help elect both Democratic and Republican candidates in the U.S. House and Senate who are concerned about the well being of independent cable operators.  Find out more about the ACAPAC.

2012 Award Recipient – Armstrong

2012 Individual PAC Leadership - Ronald Duncan, GCI (accepting is Terry Nidiffer of GCI).

Past Recipients
2011 Massillon Cable TV
2011 Belinda Dunivan, Windjammer
2010 Wave Broadband  
2010 Tom Might, Cable ONE
2010 Earl Kuhn, Kuhn Communications
2009 Colleen Abdoulah, WOW! Internet, Cable & Phone
2009 Buckeye Cable Systems
2008 WOW! Internet, Cable & Phone
2007  Cable ONE
2006 Jim Gleason, New Wave Communications

Emeritus Board Member

Norman Mills (1923-2007), president of Colstrip Cable TV, Inc, was a founding member of the ACA and served on the organization's board of directors since its inception in 1993 until the time of his death.

Contact Us

Please use the information below to get in touch with the American Cable Association.

  • American Cable Association
    Seven Parkway Center
    Suite 755
    Pittsburgh, PA 15220-3704
  • phone:412-922-8300
    contact us
Connect Hometown America
Join the Campaign

Enter your email address and zip code below to begin the process of creating an account on the ACA website.